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Millions of dollars are lost annually through the passing of bad checks in Oakland 
County.  The complaints for such fraudulent transactions now mount in the 
thousands.  The Troy Police Department is mindful of the magnitude of this 
problem and its seriousness to the business community and individual citizens 
who have been financially harmed. 
 
Because the problem is so large, the Troy Police Department, the Oakland 
County Prosecutor’s Office, and the courts cannot possibly nor practically issue 
warrants on every bad check.  Therefore, we publish this policy as a guideline for 
those who would seek our assistance. 
 
There are general principles on which we must agree.  First, the private citizen or 
business that receives a bad check must take initial preventive measures to 
protect themselves and limit their exposure to harm as much as possible.  
Second, if the private citizen or business involved is reckless in accepting checks 
and has not attempted to live within policy guidelines, no assistance from this 
agency can be expected.  Third, the Troy Police Department is in the business of 
bringing criminals to justice.  Our primary purpose is to investigate and prosecute 
individuals for crimes committed (such as passing bad checks) and we cannot or 
will not act as a collection agency for private citizens or businesses concerned 
only with restitution.  We do not act as a collection agency.  Once a warrant has 
been issued, we intend to prosecute. 
 
Note: Any private citizen or business attempting to use our Department for 

collection; that is, any complainant that accepts restitution during the 
prosecution process without the knowledge and consent of the Troy Police 
Department and the Oakland County Prosecutor’s Office will not receive 
the support of this Department on any future check complaints. 

 
The guidelines enumerated in the following pages are not intended to make it 
tough on the individual or business owner in Troy.  On the contrary, they are 
intended to make it tough on the would-be bad check writer and to make it 
possible for our Department to act at some later date to successfully investigate 
and prosecute the complaint. 
 
WHAT IS A “BAD CHECK” FOR WHICH A WARRANT CAN BE OBTAINED? 
 
1. Stolen, forged, counterfeit and/or altered checks, money orders, 

withdrawal slips, etc., which constitute the offense of Uttering and 
Publishing (14 year felony charge). 
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2. Checks returned from the bank marked “Unable to Locate Account,” “No 
Account,” or “Account Closed” (2 year felony charge). 

 
3. Checks returned due to insufficient funds in the account (1 year felony if 

over $200, 90 day misdemeanor if under $200). 
 

SOME BAD CHECKS ARE NOT CRIMINALLY PROSECUTABLE 
 

1. The following situations where bad checks have been passed but do not 
constitute a crime need to be pursued in the CIVIL COURTS 

 
2. A check issued for payment of labor.  Complaints of this nature should be 

directed to: 
 

Michigan Department of Labor and Economic Growth 
611 West Ottawa 
P. O. Box 30004 
Lansing, Michigan 48909 
517-373-1820  (telephone) 
517-373-2129  (fax) 

 
3. A check for rent.   

 
A. Bad checks in payment of the first month’s rent constitute the 

offense of Obtaining the Use of a Facility Under False Pretenses. 
 

B. Bad checks in payment of subsequent month’s rent are strictly civil 
matters. 

 
4. A check for services. 

 
A. Bad checks in payment for services constitute the offense of 

Obtaining Services Under False Pretenses. 
 

5. A stop-payment check. 
 
6. Note:  In situations 1 through 4 above, if money or material is exchanged 

for the check, this constitutes “present consideration” and the matter then 
becomes a criminal offense under different statutes. 

 
7. A check issued to repay a loan. 
 
8. A check issued to pay a gambling dept. 
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9. A post-dated check or one bearing a current date but the tender requests 

the recipient to hold until a later date. 
 

10. A second party check; a check passed on to and cashed by a second 
party who is not the payee. 

 
11. A check issued in partial payment of an automobile in which case the 

seller retains the title. 
 
12. If the check was accepted outside the City of Troy, e.g., if a delivery is 

made in Southfield and the driver accepts the check there, then you must 
pursue your complaint in that jurisdiction. 

 
HOW TO OBTAIN A WARRANT TO PROSECUTE A BAD CHECK INCIDENT 
 
The following sections set forth a MANDATORY procedure that must be followed 
before a complaint can be accepted and investigated in a bad check incident. 
 
1. IDENTIFICATION OF THE PASSER 
 

A. Identification:  Proper identification of the person passing the check 
is made when the check is presented.  The following procedure 
should be followed on any checks accepted at your establishment 
as well as by any persons accepting checks for you outside your 
physical business location. 

 
1. Michigan Driver’s License Number:  A Michigan Driver’s 

License Number MUST be written on the check.  Do not 
accept a check just because the license number is printed 
on the check.  Do no circle the license number.  The 
Michigan Driver’s License Number must be written on the 
check by the person who is accepting the check.  Ask for 
other identification if the person does not have a Michigan 
Driver’s License. 

 
2. Date of Birth:  The person who is accepting the check must 

obtain the date of birth of the person passing the check and 
write that date on the face of the check. 

 
3. Race and Sex:  The person’s race and sex may be written 

on the check.  If you write this on the check, you must enter 
the race and sex on all checks you accept.  This is an option, 
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however, the information will assist law enforcement in 
identifying the person who passed the bad check.  We hope 
you will support us in this request.  If you are uncertain of the 
race and sex, omit the information. 

 
a. W = white 
b. B = black 
c. H = Hispanic 
d. O = Oriental 
 

4. Compare Photograph with Person:  The person accepting 
the check MUST compare the photograph on the operator’s 
license with the person passing the check.  The person and 
the photograph must appear to be the same. 

 
5. Signature on License and Check:  The signature MUST be 

compared between the operator’s license and the check.  
They must appear to be the same.  Remember, the space 
on the license is smaller than on the check, and the 
signature will not appear to be exact. 

 
6. Initials or Employee Number: The sales associate who 

accepts a check MUST initial or write their employee number 
on the check.  Even though the machine may print the 
employee’s identification, the initials will identify that 
employee as the one who accepted the check.  This must be 
done even if the person taking the check knows the person 
who is passing the check. 

 
B. Two Pieces of Identification:  Two pieces of identification are 

always the best.  A Michigan Driver’s License (not an “application”) 
is always the best source of primary identification due to the built-in 
safeguards against the reproduction of false identification. 

 
C. Poor Identification:  There are three types of identification that have 

very little value. 
 

1. Michigan Identification Card:  The Michigan Identification 
Card is a very poor type of identification.  The only proof 
required to obtain a Michigan ID card is a birth certificate.  
Many people who pass bad or stolen checks use this as 
identification.  While both the Michigan Driver’s License and 
the Michigan Identification Card are very similar in 
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appearance, the Michigan Driver’s License uses 12 numbers 
and the ID card uses 10 numbers.  These two items are 
often confused, but they are clearly marked. 

 
2. Social Security Card:  The Federal Government will not 

release the name of the person who has been assigned a 
Social Security Number.  As people who pass bad or stolen 
checks often have more than one Social Security Number 
assigned to them, this is of little value. 

 
3. Driver’s License Application:  These forms are legitimately 

issued if someone has lost their original Driver’s License, 
has moved to Michigan from another state and applied for a 
Michigan Driver’s License, or has just learned how to drive. 
There have been a great number of counterfeit Michigan 
Driver’s License Application forms used to pass bad checks. 

 
D. Thumbprint:  Using a “thumbprint kit” is the best means to 

determine who passed the check (and to deter bad and stolen 
check passers).  The written identification should still be obtained; 
however, the thumbprint will remove ANY doubt about the identity 
of the check passer and the Automated Fingerprint Identification 
System (A.F.I.S.) can be used to identify persons using false 
identification. 

 
1. The cost per check is 6 cents or less depending on the 

quantity purchased.   
 
2. Reports indicate that losses from bad checks can be 

reduced up to 80% using the thumbprint method. 
 

3. The use of the thumbprint system can return its cost on the 
collection of one check. 

 
E. Other Identification:  Major credit cards with the same name as the 

person passing the check is a good second type of identification.  
Employee photo identification from a local company is acceptable, 
but bad check passers have created counterfeit or fictitious 
identification of this type and used it successfully.  If you do not 
know what a company identification card should look like, be very 
careful in accepting it.  Good common sense and experience are 
the best tools for anyone who accepts checks.  If you are not sure 
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that the person who is passing the check has proper or valid 
identification, do not accept the check. 

 
F. Law Enforcement Investigation:  The Troy Police Department may 

refuse to investigate your complaint if you have not obtained the 
proper identification and information when the check was 
presented.  The request for a warrant without the proper 
identification information written on the check may be refused 
unless the person who accepted the check personally knows the 
check passer and can supply all the information required to issue 
the warrant. 

 
2. TYPES OF CHECKS 
 

A. “Caution” Checks:  You may accept this type of check; however, 
the success of the investigation, apprehension, and prosecution is 
reduced.  Be sure you are satisfied with the answers the check 
passer gives you. 

 
1. Different Address:  The address on the operator’s license 

should be the same as on the check.  If the address is not 
the same, obtain more identification or information until YOU 
are satisfied you have the correct address.  If the proper 
address cannot be established or you are not satisfied, do 
not take the check. 

 
2. P. O. Box Address:  If the address on the check or license is 

a post office box, take caution.  The Post Office cannot give 
an address on a box number.  Establish the proper address 
or do not take the check. 

 
3. Location of Bank:  The best chance to recover a bad check 

is when it is written on a local bank that is a reasonable 
distance from Troy.  Use good common sense in all 
instances. 

 
4. Person Presenting Check Did Not Sign Check:  This may 

occur when one spouse writes the check and the other 
spouse presents the check.  Have the person passing the 
check sign under the first signer and obtain proper 
identification.   
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B. “At Your Own Risk” Checks:  The checks under this category will 
probably not be eligible for investigation or prosecution.  Therefore, 
be sure you can afford to lose the amount the check is written for if 
it is returned to you. 

 
1. Postdated Checks:  Should you agree to accept a postdated 

check, it is a “promissory note” and cannot be prosecuted as 
a bad check if it is returned. 

 
2. Request to Hold Check:  If you agree to hold a check when 

the check passer asks you to, this is a “promissory note” and 
cannot be prosecuted as a bad check if it is returned. 

 
3. Two-Party Checks:  The check must be made payable to 

cash, your business name, or yourself.  A two-party check 
cannot be prosecuted as a bad check if it is returned. 

 
4. Out-of-State Checks:  Checks written on an out-of-state 

bank will not be accepted for investigation or prosecution.  It 
is too difficult and expensive to have an agent from an out-
of-state bank appear in a Michigan court.  The other major 
problem is locating the check passer. 

 
C. Cautions:  Experience is the best teacher on knowing what type of 

checks to avoid.  The following list should raise questions on the 
check you may accept.  Not all checks that have the following 
problems may be bad, but use care when accepting them. 

 
1. Check Numbers:  Studies have indicated that 80% of bad 

checks are starter accounts and checks with numbers under 
300.  However, the bad check passer will use the last book 
of checks from a shipment in order to obtain higher numbers. 

 
2. Telephone Numbers:  Another study showed that 80% of 

people who pass bad checks do not have a telephone or it is 
unlisted.  Check the name of the person passing the check 
in the phone book to determine if they have a listed 
telephone number.  Unfortunately, many bad check passers 
have people waiting to answer some telephone numbers.  
Use common sense. 

 
3. Tampered or Altered Checks:  Numbers can be changed to 

represent an amount different from which the check was 



 

 TROY POLICE DEPARTMENT 
MERCHANTS’ GUIDE – BAD CHECKS 

Page 8 of 13 
 
 

 

written.  Request a new check.  Do no accept the check 
presented if it appears altered in any way. 

 
4. Account Opening Date:  Checks will have an opening date 

printed on them if the accounts were opened in 1985 or later 
as provided by Michigan law.  Accounts with a date of less 
than six months and/or numbers of less than 300 should be 
carefully examined.  Also, compare the account opening 
date and the check number to see if a person could logically 
write that number of checks within the period since the 
account was opened.  Bad check passers frequently start 
with the last packet of checks they received after opening a 
new account. 

 
5. Payroll Checks:  Payroll checks that are returned as NSF, 

Account Closed, or Stop Payment will be investigated by the 
Michigan Department of Labor and Economic Growth.  
Checks that are returned as forged will be investigated by 
law enforcement.  Payroll checks are the most common type 
of stolen check. 

 
6. Government Checks:  Federal and state checks are often 

stolen from the mail system.  Know your passer. 
 

D. Contact:  Call the Troy Police Department Criminal Investigations 
Section at 248-524-3453 with any questions you have concerning 
the above information. 

 
3. RETURNED CHECKS 
 

A. Types of Returned Checks:  There are three types of checks which 
may be prosecutable if they are returned.  These listed below along 
with a list of procedures that you must follow and complete before 
the Troy Police Department will take a report. 

 
1. Non-Sufficient Funds (NSF) Check 
 

a. A NSF check should be presented twice to the bank.  
Many checks will clear the second time they are 
presented.   

 
b. If the check is returned a second time: 
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i. Make an attempt to contact the check passer 
by telephone and demand payment. 

 
ii. Make a written record of dates and times that 

you attempted contact and written notes of the 
results. 

 
iii. Keep these records for your reference and the 

police report. 
 

iv. Send either the “Five-Day Notice” form or a 
letter containing the text of the five-day notice 
to the check passer.  This must be sent by 
certified mail, returned receipt requested.  This 
receipt must be kept and presented at the time 
you make your report to the Troy Police 
Department.  If the check passer refuses to 
accept the notice or does not pick it Post 
Office, the five-day notice will be returned to 
you.  Keep the five-day notice and envelope as 
documentation that a delivery attempt was 
made. 

 
2. Account Closed Check 
 

a. Do not send the check back to the bank. 
 
b. Use the same procedure as the NSF checks, 

beginning with step (b). 
 

3. Forged Check 
 

a. If you receive a forged check, follow this procedure 
exactly: 

 
i. To preserve fingerprint evidence, do not handle 

the check or permit anyone to examine or 
touch the check.   

 
ii. Immediately place the check in an envelope, 

touching only the very edge. 
 

iii. Turn the check over to the investigating officer. 
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4. Stop Payment Check 
 

a. A stop payment check is generally considered a civil 
matter unless you are able to demonstrate that a 
fraud has been perpetrated. 

 
B. Records 
 

1. Keep good records on everything you do to collect a bad 
check. 

 
2. One person should send all notices and letters, and make 

telephone and personal contacts. 
 

3. The person who investigates the check complaints for your 
business will be required to testify in Court. 

 
4. FIVE-DAY NOTICE (STATUTORY CERTIFIED NOTICE) 
 

A. Five-Day Notice:  The five-day notice (FDN) is required to be sent 
to the person who passed the bad check.   Form available at: 
http://www.checkprogram.com/oaklandcountymi/notice.htm 

 
1. Send FDN by certified mail, return receipt requested, 

deliverable to “addressee only” (the person who wrote the 
check). 

 
B. When to Mail FDN:  When the check has been returned to you from 

the bank, do at least one of the following: 
 

1. Mail the FDN to the check passer when the check is 
returned to you a second time. 

 
2. Attempt some type of contact, then mail the FDN. 

 
3. Allow five working days to repay the check once contact has 

been made.  If not paid by then, mail the FDN. 
 

4. DO NOT wait longer than ten working days after the check 
has been returned from the bank to mail the FDN.  The 
longer you wait, the less chance you will have to recover 
your loss. 
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5. CHECK RECOVERY 
 

A. Types of Collection:  There are three ways to attempt recovery of 
your loss if your contacts and letters have been unsuccessful.   

 
B. You CANNOT use the civil court or a collection agency, and then 

use the criminal justice system. 
 

1. Civil Court:  The dollar amount of the check will be a factor in 
determining how to handle your court action. 

 
a. Determine if you will require the assistance of a 

private attorney. 
 

b. Determine the court in which you will file your 
complaint:  Circuit Court, District Court, or Small 
Claims Court. 

 
c. Follow all instructions supplied by the court or your 

attorney. 
 

d. You will be required to follow the check identification 
process and the FDN procedure even in a civil court 
action. 

 
2. Collection Agency:  A collection agency will attempt to 

recover your check for a fee.  Make certain the person or 
company you hire is licensed by the State of Michigan. 

 
3. Criminal Justice System:  There is no cost to use the 

criminal justice system, only rules.  Keep in mind that the 
prime responsibility of the criminal justice system is to 
prosecute the person who violates the check laws.  The 
issuance of a warrant for the arrest of the check passer is no 
guarantee of loss recovery. 

 
6. CRIMINAL JUSTICE SYSTEM 
 

A. Law Enforcement Policy:  The following steps should be completed 
before requesting assistance from the Troy Police Department. 
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1. Check Identification:  Be certain you have all information as 
required by this document. 

 
2. Check Passer Contact:  You should make an attempt to 

collect on your check. 
 

3. Five-Day Notice:  If a FDN has not been mailed, the report 
will not be accepted.   

 
4. Bad Check Information Form:  The Troy Police Department 

and Oakland County Prosecutor’s Office forms are located at 
the end of this document. 

 
5. Certified Mail Return Receipt Card:  This is your confirmation 

that the FDN was mailed and will indicate if the letter was 
accepted or rejected. 

 
B. Law Enforcement Contact:  After you have completed steps 1 

through 5 and restitution has not been made, bring the following 
items to the Troy Police Department to file a report: 

 
1. Check 
 
2. Five day notice 
 
3. Certified mail return receipt card or addressed envelope (if 

delivery not accepted by addressee) 
 

4. Troy Police Department/Prosecutor’s Work Sheet 
 

5. Oakland County Prosecutor’s Office Bad Check Crime 
Report 

 
7. TROY POLICE DEPARTMENT POLICIES 
 

A. Check Policies 
 

1. Partial Payment:  Do not accept any partial payment on the 
check.  Once you accept any money, it becomes a civil court 
action and cannot be prosecuted. 
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2. Refuse to Prosecute:  After a warrant has been issued and 
the business refuses to prosecute or accept restitution, no 
more warrants will be issued on behalf of that business. 

 
3. Checks Held Longer Than Four (4) Months:  Any check held 

longer than four (4) months may not be considered for 
prosecution.  This time limit could be waived on a case-by-
case basis. 

 
4. Business Account Checks:  Business account checks will be 

handled on a case-by-case basis. 
 

5. Checks Received by Mail:  No complains will be taken on 
checks received through the mail or not presented in person.  
The Prosecutor’s Office will not issue warrants in these 
instances due to lack of identification of the passer. 

 
6. NSF Checks under $50:  These checks can be handled 

through Small Claims Court which has a $1,500 limit.  Civil 
Court judges under law are able to award the dollar amount 
of the check plus double the damage award of $50 with a 
maximum award of $500. 

 
B. Check Investigation 
 

1. The Troy Police Department will investigate your complaint. 
 
 


